CHALLENGE: Spring Cleaning 2014 – Art Rooms

In my house there is a room in which the door rarely gets opened.  The door belongs to a room which I call Art Room #2.  I was in search of something special the other night which forced me to open THE door.  I never found what I was looking for (you’ll know why when you look at the pictures below), but what I did find is the answer to my question… How do I want to use this room for my art? I have (finally) decided to use this room as my Supply Closet and Project Idea Room!  As you can see in the pictures below, the room is full.  It has housed most of my arts and crafts supplies in boxes for the last 6 years, which is how long we’ve lived in this house.  Time to put the room to use!

The BEFORE pictures of Art Room #2:

Art Room #2 - Looking in from doorway - West-by-Northwest corner

Art Room #2 – Looking in from doorway – West-by-Northwest corner

Most of my arts and crafts supplies are hidden in these boxes.

Art Room #2 – Most of my arts and crafts supplies are hidden in these boxes.

Art Room #2 - Southwest corner

Art Room #2 – Southwest corner

Art Room #2 - Northeast corner

Art Room #2 – Northeast corner

And since I’m going to Spring Clean and reorganize that Art Room #2 I figured I better do the same for Art Room #1 and Art Room #3.  NOTE: For those of you who know me, it’s no surprise that my Art Rooms have been neglected over the past year, hence the reason for the mass destruction.

Art Room #1 - Looking in from doorway - Northwest corner

Art Room #1 – Looking in from doorway – Northwest corner

Art Room #1 - Northeast corner

Art Room #1 – Northeast corner

Art Room #1 - Southeast corner

Art Room #1 – Southeast corner

Art Room #1 - Southwest corner

Art Room #1 – Southwest corner

Art Room #3 - Looking in from doorway - Northeast corner

Art Room #3 – Looking in from doorway – Northeast corner

Art Room #3 - Looking in from doorway - Southeast corner

Art Room #3 – Looking in from doorway – Southeast corner

Art Room #3 - Southwest corner

Art Room #3 – Southwest corner

Art Room #3 - Northwest corner

Art Room #3 – Northwest corner

Here are the plans for each room:

  • Art Room #1 – This is where the magic happens – designing, painting, creating.  NEEDS: Besides the obvious table needs, I also need an easy-to-access place to store my “Everyday” tools – pencils, paint brushes, paint, scissors, mediums, etc.  Then I need a place for reference materials.  AND… I need a radio AND a TV with video/DVD/cable access.   Laptop/Internet needs are already taken care of through the wireless set-up we have in the house.  I almost forgot something… I need a camera/filming set-up as well.  This one will have to go on the Wish List and set-up at a later date.
  • Art Room #2 – This will be the Storage Closet and Project Idea Room.  I (think I) have (enough) shelving and cabinets that I can use to store surfaces, paints & mediums, and all other supply type items.  The idea now is to place the shelving on the eastern side of the room.  Then on the western side of the room I can set up a table or two to lay out projects and inspiration for future projects.
  • Art Room #3 – This is the classroom and office area.  I think I will move the “office” (desk, chair, filing cabinet) to the southwest end of the room.  By doing that I believe I will have more space in the rest of the room to set up tables for more students as well as be able to use the natural lighting from the windows.

Before I begin this challenge I need to sketch out my thoughts to see if I can layout the rooms like I want.  Also, I am bound and determined to use only the items I have on hand (or things I can get for FREE) – shelving, furniture, storage bins, etc. – to carry out this 3-room Spring Cleaning challenge.

I’m looking forward to the AFTER pictures.  I hope you are too!  🙂

Leave a Reply

